A Beautiful Mess

A Sexual Abuse and Addiction Recovery Blog

Emotional Challenges

on January 3, 2017

I am being challenged with keeping a stable emotional state of mind.  Most of it is due to things that are out of my control, but I know that certain things are negatively impacting my state of mind.

My significant other is constantly mood swinging and I’m having to detach from how he chooses to feel on a moment to moment basis.  My natural instinct is to fix it, cheer him up, do whatever to make him smile… put my own happiness second to his.  It’s literally going to kill me if I don’t change my ways.  He’s not physically violent, but the emotional instability from all this certainly isn’t good for my recovery.

Codependency sucks.

2 responses to “Emotional Challenges

  1. girl undrunk says:

    Sorry you’re having such a hard time. I deal with some of the same things bc my mom lives with us. We have come a long way but it can be hard with 2 women living in the same house. I’ve had to sit down and talk to her during a calm time-when emotions are somewhat settled. And same for her to me. The first response isn’t always great but us talking has definitely improved our relationship immensely. We really don’t control how others feel and the same goes for us. Hope this gets better for you sooner rather than later. I know it’s a tough one!

  2. Michele says:

    Thank you for taking the time to reach out. It’s definitely going to take some time to get to where I want to be, but I will keep on trying and working on it. I wish that I had a “calm time” to discuss things. Everything is usually fine until I try to address things, then it’s an shit storm. I will keep the faith and just keep putting one foot in front of the other. I suppose it’s all I can do.

Leave a Reply

