A Beautiful Mess

A Sexual Abuse and Addiction Recovery Blog

Asking For Help ((Coping Skill))

on May 25, 2010

“And the trouble is, if you don’t risk anything, you risk even more.” -Erica Jong

It’s incredibly difficult to attempt recovery and life changes without a great support network and using them.  It’s okay to ask for help.  No one can do it alone.  Asking for help can make us stronger and more independent in the long run.  We should also prepare for people to tell us no.  Not everyone can help us all the time, but the point is, some people can and will.  If you find yourself struggling, keep a list of numbers of people who are there to listen and extend a helping hand.

Ask for help.  Ask for help.  Ask for help.  Even though it may be difficult, it’s necessary to find people who are supportive of you!

Prepare ahead of time for these moments.  Answer the first three questions prior to approaching the person for help and then answer the last question afterward.

  • Who will you talk to?
  • What will you say?
  • What do you predict will happen?
  • What happened in reality?

Me, personally, I am not big on asking for help.  It makes me feel so vulnerable.  But I know that I can not do this alone.  I know that it’s imperative that I create a new social world for myself with time.  They say that I must change the people, places and things.  All in due time and I am still diligent in changing my life.  One day at a time.

Leave a Reply

