A Beautiful Mess

A Sexual Abuse and Addiction Recovery Blog

Mindfulness

on April 30, 2010

Not sure where to start so I am going to just jump right in.  This week in my sexual abuse recovery group, we discussed the importance of mindfulness.  It’s funny how so many of us fail to live in the moment.  We are wrapped up with our yesterdays and so busy planning our tomorrows that we forget about the right now.  It’s funny because yesterday is nothing more than a reference point and a lesson, a guide of where to go from there.  The only time we can honestly be “for sure” about is the right here, right now.  Our recollections from the past change as time goes on and our feelings about the past can too.  It’s simply a tool to guide us for right now.  Tomorrow isn’t promised to us.  It’s important to be mindful of what we are doing right now.

Right now, I can feel the breeze against my skin.  I can hear the keys clicking as I type.  I can hear the television in the background.  I feel my hair tickling my arm as I write this.  Perhaps I should put it up so that it doesn’t distract me.  BAM.  I am being mindful of the moment.  It’s all the little things in life that we take for granted, that we never bother to notice because we are too consumed with yesterday and tomorrow.

Mindfulness is so important that it has been incorporated into many different religions and lifestyles.  It’s all about enjoying the moment and taking life’s simple morsels and learning to trust in direct experience – learn from it.

Mindfulness is something that I lacked my whole life.  I can’t recall ever just sitting for minutes or hours taking in what is going on at that very moment without the thoughts of tomorrow or the yesterdays.  Mindfulness helps me partake in life right now.  But while being mindful, it’s best to not judge what is going on.

If I find myself judging the moment, I need to be careful not to judge myself that I’m judging.  Feelings about feelings about feelings about feelings is a slippery slope and can lead to negative feelings and/or depression.

It’s the process of accepting things as they are.  On life’s terms.

“It is what it is.”

One response to “Mindfulness

  1. […] the reality I live in.  Sometimes we need to disconnect from our thoughts by practicing some in the moment exercises.  We must escape from our thinking mind from time to time and use our observing […]

Leave a Reply

