A Beautiful Mess

A Sexual Abuse and Addiction Recovery Blog

Letting Go and Letting God ((Part 1))

on April 30, 2010

I was browsing my Facebook today and looking at updates from old friends.  I came across a recent picture of a family photo taken of a friend’s family.  It really touched me and I loved seeing the legacy.  But it brought me a bit of sadness.  I haven’t been to a family get together in years because I detached from my family while using and abusing myself.  My family has been supportive of my changes lately and it’s my dream to be in a picture with them all.  ((I just wrote I’m so lost but deleted it, because through God all things are possible, so I’m not completely lost.))  I know that in due time dreams of spending time with all of my family are possible, but I must stay diligent in my sobriety and my change of lifestyle.  I don’t care about the things that fall away from me because if it means that I fall closer to God and family, I will deal.  My priorities have been rearranged by keeping my eyes on Him.  A random thought first thing in the morning, but it’s the little things that bring me to thoughts like this that will help me become the person that God created me to be.

Leave a Reply

