A Beautiful Mess

A Sexual Abuse and Addiction Recovery Blog

Compassion ((Love Thyself))

on April 30, 2010

So they say that with sexual abuse there is a level of PTSD that comes along with it.  It’s important to view the symptoms of PTSD as an attempt by your mind and body to survive overwhelming trauma.  Symptoms may help me tune out my trauma and protect myself from further harm, or even make me feel safer.  The problem is that with some of the seemingly good things that PTSD, there are some darker sides to it.  The suicidal thinking and relationship problems.  During all of this, it’s important to allow myself to feel the pain and not to beat myself up when I’m not at my best.  I need to treat the child within with compassion and allow her to heal.  How can I do that if I’m talking to her worse than some of my enemies?

But just because I know that I self medicate because of things that happened to me that were beyond my control, it doesn’t give me the right to use unhealthy coping mechanisms.

Life on life’s terms.

Leave a Reply

